Patrimoni - Vilajuiga-Esglesia-de-Sant-Feliu-empordaturisme

Sant Feliu Church

The place name “villa Iudaica” appears as a possession of the Sant Pere de Rodes Monastery in documents from 982 and 990, and was part of the County of Empúries. The church, “Sancti Faelicis in villa Judaica” is mentioned in 1080 in the record of a “judgement from God” held in this church against those accused of committing a robbery against the Abbot of Sant Pere de Rodes. The side chapels that were added to the Romanesque nave were probably built in the 17th or early 18th century and the confessional must date back to this same period. It has a central dome decorated with mouldings and set between the chapels. Inside the Romanesque nave there is an old monolithic baptismal font with no adornments and, on the baroque side, the altarpiece stands out.

Ubi.cat

  • Carrer de Mendízabal, 17493 Vilajuïga, Catalunya Espanya42º19'30''N 3º5'35''E
How to get Explore the map